header blue
strip teaching

 

Industrial Economics

 

Announcements

 

June Course is over. Good bye and good luck!
1st
2017

 

Course Info

 

Instructor:

 

Kosmas Marinakis (kmarinakis@hse.ru)

church and ware  

Assistant Lecturer:

 

Alexey Ostapchuk (alexey.ostapchuk@gmail.com)

 
   

 

Lecture:

 

Tuesdays at 15:10, auditorium K9

 

Office:

 

Shabolovka 26, 3432

 

Office Hours:

 

Click here to book an appointment

 
       

Basic Text:

 

Church & Ware: Industrial Organization, a Strategic Approach

 

 

Lab Schedule

 

Group Day Time Room Teacher Assistant
4 Sat 9:00 - 10:20 4413 Alexey Ostapchuk
alexey.ostapchuk@gmail.com
Artem Vilnevchits
artem.vilnevchits@gmail.com
1 & 5 Sat 10:30 - 11:50 4413 Alexey Ostapchuk
alexey.ostapchuk@gmail.com
Arseniy Stolyarov arseniystolyarov@yahoo.com
7 & 10 Sat 10:30 - 11:50 2205 Alexey Mikhaylov
alexey.i.mikhaylov@gmail.com
Artem Vilnevchits
artem.vilnevchits@gmail.com
3 & 9 Sat 12:10 - 13:30 4413 Alexey Ostapchuk
alexey.ostapchuk@gmail.com
Arseniy Stolyarov arseniystolyarov@yahoo.com
2 Sat 13:40 - 15:00 4426 Alexey Ostapchuk
alexey.ostapchuk@gmail.com
Arseniy Stolyarov arseniystolyarov@yahoo.com
6 & 8 Sat 13:40 - 15:00 2205 Alexey Mikhaylov
alexey.i.mikhaylov@gmail.com
Artem Vilnevchits
artem.vilnevchits@gmail.com

 

Downloads

 

Syllabus

Test Archive

Test Info

Test coverpage

Handout 1 Assessment Handout 4 Handout 5

 

Homework new

 

Assignment Available Due Status
Homework 1 tick Sep 10 Sep 24 Completed
Homework 2 tick Sep 21 Oct 01 Completed
Homework 3 tick Oct 04 Oct 15 Completed
Homework 4 tick Oct 12 Oct 22 Completed
Homework 5 tick Nov 28 Dec 10 Completed
Homework 6 tick Dec 08 Dec 17 Completed
Homework 7 tick Dec 13 Dec 23 Completed
Homework 8 tick Jan 18 Jan 28 Completed
Homework 9 tick Feb 02 Feb 11 Completed
Homework 10 tick Feb 16 Feb 25 Completed
Homework 11 tick Mar 6 Mar 18 Completed
Homework 12 tick Mar 13 Mar 25 Completed
Homework 13 tick Mar 21 Apr 1 Completed
Homework 14 tick Apr 5 Apr 15 Completed
EXTRA CREDIT tick Mar 13 Apr 15 Optional project - Clarifications

 

Labs

 

Lab Week of Material Problems / Readings
Class 1 Sep 5 PC review CW2
Class 2 Sep 12 Cost / Theory of firm Practice set 2
Class 3 Sep 19 Structure, trade and transactions Practice set 3
Class 4 Sep 26 Discrete Contracts Practice set 4
Class 5 Oct 3 Absolute / Relative Contracts Practice set 5
Class 6 Oct 10 Static games Practice set 6
Class 7 Oct 17 Review for test Last year's test
Class 8 Oct 31 Test overview Test
Class 9 Nov 7 Dynamic Games Homework
Class 10 Nov 14 Collusion Homework
Class 11 Nov 21 Oligopoly Practice set 11
Class 12 Nov 28 Deterrence Practice set 12
Class 13 Dec  05 Deterrence Practice set 13
Class 14 Jan 14 Exam View Exam
Class 15 Jan 21 Differentiation Practice Set 15
Class 16 Jan 28 Price Discrimination Homework 6
Class 17 Feb 6 Price Discrimination Practice set 17
Class 18 Feb 13 Welfare effects on PD Slides 19
Class 19 Feb 20 Vertical relations - HW 8 Homework 8
Class 20 Feb 27 Prep for the test Last test
Class 21 Mar 3 Vertical relations Problem set 21

 

Roll file

 

You can view your credits here

Grades are uploaded by teachers upon completion of marking,
For any problem with your records please contact your lab teacher

 

Course Calendar

Updated in a weekly basis according to course evolution.

 

Date Lec Subject Readings*
Sep 03 Sat 0 First lecture Syllabus
Sep 06 Tue 1 The Theory of the Firm I T1
Sep 13 Tue 2 Size and Structure of Firms I CW3, SG1, Slides 2
Sep 20 Tue 3 Size and Structure of Firms II CW3, SG1, Slides 3
Sep 27 Tue 4 Separation of Ownership and Control I CW3, SG2 - Slides 4
Oct 04 Tue 5 Separation of Ownership and Control II CW3, SG2 - Slides 5
Oct 11 Tue 6 Game Theory Primer Gibbons, CW8, SG3 - Slides 6
Oct 18 Tue 7 S-R Price Competition I CW8, SG3 - Slides 7
Oct 25 Tue    Module 1 Test (at 09:00) Lectures 1 - 7
Nov 15 Tue 8 S-R Price Competition II CW8, SG3 - Slides 8
Nov 19 Sat 9 Game Theory II - Dynamic Price Competition Gibbons, CW10, T6, SG4 - Slides 9
Nov 22 Tue 10 Collusion & Price Wars  CW12, T6, SG4 - Slides 10
Nov 29 Tue 11 Antitrust I CW10, CW12, T6, SG4 - Slides 11
Dec 6 Tue 12 Antitrust II - Entry Deterrence I CW13, CW14, T8, SG5 - Slides 12
Dec 13 Tue 13 Entry Deterrence II  CW15, CW16, T8, SG5 - Slides 13
Dec 20 Tue 14 Horizontal Differentiation I - (Room K10) CW11, T7, SG6 - Slides 14
Dec 23 Fri   Semester 1 Exam (15:10 - room K10) Lectures 1 - 14
Jan 10 Tue 15

Horizontal Differentiation II

CW11, T7, SG6 - Slides 15

Jan 17 Tue 16 Vertical Differentiation CW11, T7, SG6 - Slides 16
Jan 24 Tue 17 Price Discrimination I CW5, T3, SG7 - Slides 17
Jan 31 Tue 18

Price Discrimination II

CW5, T3, SG7 - Slides 18

Feb 7 Tue 19

Price Discrimination III

CW5, T3, SG7 - Slides 19

Feb 14 Tue 20 Vertical Relations I CW22, T4, SG8 - Slides 20
Feb 21 Tue 21 Vertical Relations II CW22, T4, SG8 - Slides 21
Feb 28 Tue 22 Market Structure I SG9 - Slides 22
Mar 4 Sat   Module 3 Test (15:10 at 5306 - 5307) Lectures 14 - 21
Mar 7 Tue 23 Market Structure II - Industrial Policy I SG9 / CW (Various), SG10 - Slides 23
Mar 14 Tue 24 Competition and Industrial Policy II CW (Various), SG10 - Slides 24
Mar 21 Tue 25 Regulation I SG11 - Slides 25
Mar 28 Tue 26 Regulation II CW24, SG11 - Slides 26
Apr 04 Tue 27 Intellectual Property Class notes - Slides 27
Apr 11 Tue 28 Platforms

Rochet & Tirole (2004) - Slides 28

Apr 22 Sat   Semester 2 Exam (12:10 at 5306 - 5307) Lectures 14 - 28

 

*Readings: CW: Church and Ware, T: Tirole, SG Study Guide 

 

Downloads require Adobe Acrobat Reader (TM). Click on the icon for a free copy.